I Hardly Know Myself

Here are the lyrics to my original song, I Hardly Know Myself.

For the tune, refer to the video at You Tube here. I’ll post a version on You Tube soon with me singing

it, accompanied by guitar.

I Hardly Know Myself

Many years ago I was weak and sort of dense

My hair stuck out, my eyes were wide and often I felt tense,

I really didn’t need the thing that next afflicted me,

I ran my little car into a solid old oak tree.

My face was scarred, one lung was poked,

It made me short of breath,

I got a lung from some poor soul whose fate was actual death,

I got a new face from a star, (it cost a little more),

But what the heck, I made the choice,…handsome, but poor!

I hardly know myself,

I hardly know myself,

When I look in the mirror, is it really me there?

I hardly know myself.

As time went on I needed more and more to make me whole,

A transplant here, a transplant there, New body- Old soul.

The ligaments and corneas and pancreas are new,

As are the heart, the kidneys, both, and my intestine too.

One hundred fifty people died to make me who I am

I have a chip implanted in my frontal hippocam,

It helps me to remember things that otherwise would fade,

I really do appreciate the electronic aid, But,

I hardly know myself,

I hardly know myself,

When I look in the mirror, is it really me there?

I hardly know myself.

Spare parts and circuitry are not the only things I use,

I have a drug that picks me up and helps me beat the blues,

Some Ritalin prepares me for the tough tests that I take,

It makes me sharp and calms my nerves, My hands now never shake.

Sometimes I miss the “old me” that was born to fade away,

But life is good, I will go on to live another day,

I’m trying to ignore the feeling sticking in my gut,

Between the transplants, drugs and chips I’m stronger, smarter, but…

I hardly know myself,

I hardly know myself,

When I look in the mirror, is it really me there?

I hardly know myself.

Leave a Reply

