Flesh of My Flesh: The Ethics of Cloning Humans

Flesh of My Flesh: The Ethics of Cloning Humans

Edited by Gregory E. Pence

Read October 2009

Since reading Kass’ Life Liberty and the Defense of Dignity, I have read half a dozen other related books and articles, trying to cover the spectrum of thought on life’s ethical debates, especially pertaining to biology, marriage, kinship, genetic manipulation and related topics.

I think the book that started me in this vein was Living with Our Genes. Then I read Our Post-human Future. Both of those were read prior to reading Kass.  One thing leads to another.

I enjoyed this book. The essayists covered the range of thought. I think that human cloning serves no legitimate human purpose, and that it confounds many inviolable principles. Natural law ethics informs this view.

I found this book in the library. Then I bought a used copy for my collection and for future reference.

Leave a Reply

