Jack Welch on Medicare?

I called the Kaiser Foundation. They are a leading source of health care , Medicare,  and uninsured statistics. Their data and presentation is unparalleled as far as I can tell. They sometimes appear to stray into advocacy for centrally planned health care. But their data rocks!

I’ve long wondered if all people sign up for Medicare when they turn 65. I don’t know any that haven’t. But I don’t know the ultra-rich. I do know many whose net worth exceeds that of the workers who pay FICA on every paycheck by a factor of 100-400. There is no hesitation to take from the young worker.

I called Kaiser. I got the staffer that specializes in Medicare enrollment. I asked her, “Do any rich people not sign up for Medicare?” She sighed and mused a bit. “No, I don’t think so.”

“So Jack Welch (the illustrious retired CEO of GE that got a multi-zillion dollar retirement package) would be on Medicare? Tiger Woods’ dad? Oprah Winfrey’s mother? Jack Nicklaus? Barbara Bush? Wilt Chamberlain? Heirs of the Astor fortune? The Kennedys?”

Barbara Bush

Barbara Bush

She couldn’t think of any exceptions. No amount of riches is enough to shame this country’s rich into refusing to burden the younger generation. (I’m not against the rich. I am against the government mediating a transfer from young workers to people perfectly capable of taking care of their own needs.)

Leave a Reply

