Campaign highlights

Campaign journal

August 11, 2010

Last night the temperatures were sublime. I began my second trip around the district, knocking on doors. It was pleasant duty.

I met S., with his 8 year-old son. They were wandering, waiting for the bishop, who had been delayed, to make it to their appointment. He and I played church basketball and ball at the MSU rec center and worked in Sunday School. He’s moving his family to Casper next week.

I met a college-bound athlete, whose brother I had played basketball with. I gave him an application to become an absentee voter so he can vote from his college in OK. He’ll play ball for them.

I chatted with H., my associate in Tea Party activities. D., the retired carpet installer who’d bought seat covers from me, came along and we three chatted.

I met D., a coach at MSU with whom I played basketball 20 years ago. He’s going to visit a grandson for a birthday party in CA.

I met Fa, a recently graduated, masters-level nurse who is looking for work and starting a doctorate online. I told her that as a legislator, I would have no inclination to take ever larger portions of her earnings. She said, “Then you’re a Republican.” I said I am. She approved. Her necklace had a crucifix. She’s a single mother.

I met another man who we discovered had purchased seat covers from me twice. He had many Democratic-sounding ideas: Wall St. is bad and under-regulated, oil execs control the government, the party of “no”. He had Tibetan prayer flags. He was retired from MSU. He had very conservative leanings on finance and considers the country to be in a very serious position, a mess. He will not vote for my Democratic opponent. He had strong feelings about that. He wants critics to have positive ideas. He is disgusted with almost all of Congress. He gave me a very interesting tour of finance for buildings at MSU.

I met two women who called themselves fiscally conservative and socially liberal. I’d like to have more details from the next person who says this. What five points define each position? (The MSU retiree also talked about being a fiscal conservative.) There seems to be no home for these people. Is there a philosophical ground that bundles frugality with moral restraint? That bundles profligacy with abandonment of taboos? Would a FisCoSoLib (fiscally conservative, socially liberal) party be impossible? (Shorten that to FicoSoli Party.)

I believe all this talk about being a fiscal conservative comes from alarm at out-of-control spending, stimulus, deficits and debt, from suspicion about welfare and dependency and the dole, from a realization that the private sector is being swamped by the public sector.

It was a rewarding evening.

2 Responses

  1. “Fiscally conservative” from a liberal usually means to increase taxes to raise revenue.

  2. That place is called, “libertarian”. They are as opposed to the authoritarian, big government folks on the far right and the far left as the two are to each other. Most americans want a sensible, common sense government that respects their decisions while making respectable decisions itself.

    To preserve the rights and property of individuals, we created government, which derives its ability to act justly only from the equally just consent of the governed.

    So if you find yourself making policy that takes rights from individuals, or denies them control over themselves or their property or their labor, you’re being authoritarian. Lean that way only in exigent circumstances.

    It’s not just the immediate reaction to the lack of fiscal constraint in Washington.

Leave a Reply

