Great Expectations

Great Expectations

Read August 2010

This is not exhaustive or literary; it’s a simple, quick rehash of off-the-cuff observations, something to memorialize my  reading, a mile post in my literary progress.

I had a hard time persevering with this book. By about half way through, though, I was interested in the plot. I had a hard time wading past the language and idioms, a hard time relating to the characters. It was sufficiently foreign, that I could not put myself in the place of the people.

I did appreciate the appeal to simplicity and loyalty, the forge and Joe’s warmth vs. the grime and duplicity of London and other characters like Pumblechook; I grieved for Miss Havisham’s bitterness; I could not fathom a little girl being broken of natural affection as Estella was; the boy-fight in the brickyard was beyond my grasp- I couldn’t imagine boys doing this.

I saw the self-destructive nature of Miss Havisham’s resentment, and equated it with that I’ve seen in a few acquaintances over the years. It’s a moral warning for me. It was satisfying to have her redeemed at the end.

When the note read “Don’t Go Home”, I was hooked on the plot.

Reading on Kindle, it’s nice having definitions so readily available. Putting the cursor in front of a word brings up a definition. But note-keeping in the margins is better than the note keeping in Kindle. So I notated not at all. I feel poorer.

I couldn’t tell the extent of Estella and Pip’s warmth at the end.

I’m not a plot expert. I used Sparks Notes to help confirm plot elements as they occurred and at the end of reading.

Some of the humorous descriptions tickled me.

Dickens seems both moralistic and nuanced.

Leave a Reply

