Faust, Part 1

I finished Faust, Part 1 last week. It was very worthwhile, even though I read it in a translation that had a paucity of notes. For Part 2, I’ll get a translation with lots, as advised by my friend Rex, who taught this at MSU.

I saw much to do with creation, meaning, purpose, degradation and redemption. I wouldn’t not have enjoyed this book or its many tentacles into philosophy and religion if I had taken it up 20 years ago. Background, experience and reading help.

Leave a Reply

