Recent Reading

I recently finished Gibbon’s Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, Aeschylus’ Oresteia and Racine’s Phaedra. For respite from the hilarity of these texts, I’ve resorted to listening to “Dave Barry is Not Taking This Sitting Down” on CD and reading Twain’s The Innocents Abroad.

Right now I’m mining the amazing thoughts in Crowds and Power, by Elias Canetti. It was mentioned several times in the Teaching Company audio course I listened to, “Utopia and Terror in the 20th Century,” so I bought a used copy and have read most of the first several hundred pages. (I skip passages.)

 

I bought a copy of Livy’s The Early History of Rome. I’ll give it a shot after Crowds and Power. I also got Pipes’ Communism: A History. It’s a thin book and looks worth reading, so far.

Leave a Reply

