Happiness and Poverty

Happiness and Poverty

 

I asked a cashier at a sporting goods store if there were any universal secrets of happiness.

 

She said, “No, I don’t think so. There probably is but I don’t know of any.”

 

I asked a Subway cashier in Laurel, Montana, what causes poverty.

 

He said, “I have no idea.”

 

Then he had an idea. “The laziness of people.”

 

I asked if poverty is accidental. He thought not.

 

I asked a Subway cashier in Parowan, Utah, what causes poverty.

 

He said, “Money.”

 

I said, “Having money causes poverty?”

 

He said, “Some people having too much, maybe.”

 

Then he said, “At the job I just left, my boss needed three workers. He went to the state job service, (which, in Utah is housed with the welfare agencies, in an effort to direct beneficiaries toward work.) Four males were sitting there.

 

He said, “I have three jobs to fill. Do any of you want a job?”

 

They all said, “No, we’re waiting for our food stamps.”

 

The cashier concluded, “That’s the country we live in.”

 

Books:

Life at the Bottom

Wealth and Poverty

Coming Apart

A Welfare Mother

Fatherless America

The New Politics of Poverty

The Dependency Agenda

Tyranny of Kindness

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

