Universal Secrets of Happiness

I asked a young desk clerk if there were any universal secrets of happiness.

He had ready answers.

“Stick with the family. A loving pet. Have a nice dinner with the wife. Cherish everyone you meet.”

 

Later, I asked a grocery clerk the same question.

She said glumly, “I don’t think so.”

I asked, “Are there any things that a person can do to or think to be happy?”

She did not respond.

I asked, “What makes you happy?”

She said, “My horsey.”

 

Leave a Reply

